State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes City Council Special Meeting

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2

Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4

Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6

Rosie Castro, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8

John Courage, Dist. 9 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, May 17, 2023

2:00 PM

Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 2:01 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 11 – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello

Havrda, Castro, Pelaez, Courage, Perry

ABSENT: None

ITEMS

1. Ordinance canvassing the official election results of May 6, 2023 Charter Election. [Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk]

City Clerk Debbie Racca Sittre presented the Canvassing Report for the San Antonio Justice Charter Amendment which was ordered by City Council on February 16, 2023 as a result of the City Clerk's certification of a petition submitted by Ground Game Texas on January 10, 2023 with over 20,000 verified signatures of eligible San Antonio voters. Racca-Sittre stated that the total 142,783 votes including provisional and over-seas ballots were cast in the election of 825,260 Registered Voters as of April 27, 2023 which was 17.3% overall voter turnout. Racca-Sittre reported that 71.63% of the votes cast were against the proposition, therefore the amendment had

failed. Racca-Sittre recommended that the Mayor appoint a Charter Review Commission to review the City Charter and recommend potential amendments.

Councilmember Courage moved to Approve. Councilmember Cabello Havrda seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo,

Cabello, Havrda, Castro, Pelaez, Courage, Perry

2. Ordinance canvassing the May 6, 2023 General Election results and ordering a runoff election. [Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk]

City Clerk Debbie Racca Sittre presented the Canvassing Report for the San Antonio General Election which was ordered by City Council on February 16, 2023 and held on May 6, 2023. Racca- Sittre stated that the total 142,783 votes including provisional and over-seas ballots were cast in the election of 825,260 Registered Voters as of April 27, 2023 which was 17.3% overall voter turnout.

Of the votes cast during both early voting and election day on the May 6, 2023 General Election, Racca-Sittre reported the following results: Mayor Ron Nirenberg 60.74%, Council District 2 Jalen McKee-Rodriguez 56.04%, Council District 3 Phyllis Viagran 50.89%, Council District 4 Adriana Rocha Garcia 75.15%, Council District 5 Teri Castillo 62.9%, Council District 6 Melissa Cabello Havrda 53.76%, Council District 8 Manny Pelaez 70.47%, Council District 9 John Courage 62.48%, and Council District 10 Marc Whyte 57.84%.

As a result of the canvassing the following were declared elected: Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Council District 2 Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Council District 3 Phyllis Viagran, Council District 4 Adriana Rocha Garcia, Council District 5 Teri Castillo, Council District 6 Melissa Cabello Havrda, Council District 8 Manny Pelaez, Council District 9 John Courage, and Council District 10 Marc Whyte.

Racca-Sittre noted that a majority vote (over 50%) was not received for any one candidate in Districts 1 and 7 therefore, the runoff election scheduled for June 10, 2023 would contain the top two candidates that received the most votes in those council districts. Council District 1 Runoff election would be between Sukh Kaur and Mario Bravo. Council District 7 Runoff election would be between Dan Rossiter and Marina Alderete Gavito. Racca-Sittre listed Runoff Election early voting, election day sites and times which were approved by the City Council for the District 1 and 7 Runoff Election.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to Approve. Councilmember Viagran seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello, Havrda, Castro, Pelaez, Courage, Perry

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session was not held.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 2:14 p.m.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk

